The Children’s Board currently awards scholarships to high school seniors from select schools located in Oswego County. These scholarships are awarded each spring at our annual awards ceremony.

"Scholarships are judged on a point system" Valerie Gerber, co-chair of scholarship committee

Winners will be announced in April 2021 and be awarded at our annual awards ceremony (to be determined).

Applications are available at select guidance offices.
Please check your guidance office for availability.
Deadline for submission of applications will be in March 2021.

Scholarships are judged on a point system based on each applicant’s involvement in community and school activities, work ethic, need, academic achievement, and their personal essay.

Each application is reviewed confidentially by a committee of Children’s Board members and points are awarded for each area of review.

One of the scholarships is “The Diane Falise Memorial Scholarship” in memory of a former Children’s Board member who was very involved in the betterment of the children of Oswego County.  Diane was a long time member and past president, always put children first. She was also the Director of Literacy Volunteers of Oswego.

New this year, we are additionally offering a one-time scholarship in memory of John Bucher, who passed away unexpectedly, and was the spouse of one of our members.  The scholarship seeks out students who show an interest or aptitude in a specific skill or trade and plan to continue their education at a trade, technical, or vocational school or program.